Путь на сайте


For which countries the Apostille is good?

The Apostille is affixed to Ukrainian documents intended to be used in any country that signed the Convention Abolishing the Requirement for Legalization for Foreign Public Documents (the Hague Convention). See the list of signatory countries below.

For which counties the Apostille certification is not applicable?

1. If you are preparing documents for a country that is not a member of the Hague Convention and it is not on the list of signatory countries, you need to submit your documents for consular legalization. For this purpose, apply to the Apostille and Document Issue Arrangement Division of the Consular Service Department of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Ukraine at 2 Velyka Zhytomyrska St, Kyiv, 01018, tel.: +380 44 238 16 69.

2. If you are preparing documents for a country that is a member of the Hague Convention but our countries have signed an agreement abolishing or simplifying the document legalization procedure, you do not need apostilization. If an institution in this foreign country still insists on your documents to be apostilized, the Ministry of Education and Science, Youth and Sports of Ukraine will not deny your Apostille application if you file it. Such countries include most former USSR countries and some other countries. In the list of signatory countries, such countries are marked with the star character (*). Your Ukrainian documents should be accepted in these countries without the Apostille certification or you may be asked to present the documents with notarized translations and the Apostille stamp affixed by the Ministry of Justice of Ukraine. Please clarify this question with the foreign institution for which you are preparing the document package.

List of countries that have signed the Convention Abolishing the Requirement for Legalization for Foreign Public Documents 1961 (Apostille)

  1. Albania
  2. Andorra
  3. Antigua and Barbuda
  4. Argentina
  5. Armenia*
  6. Australia
  7. Austria
  8. Azerbaijan*
  9. Bahamas
  10. Bahrain
  11. Barbados
  12. Belarus*
  13. Belgium
  14. Belize
  15. Bosnia and Herzegovina
  16. Botswana
  17. Brazil (from 14.08.2016)
  18. Brunei Darussalam
  19. Bulgaria*
  20. Burundi
  21. Cape Verde
  22. Chile (from 30.08.2016)
  23. China, People's Republic of (Hong Kong and Macao only)
  24. Colombia
  25. Cook Islands
  26. Costa Rica
  27. Croatia
  28. Cyprus
  29. Czech Republic*
  30. Denmark (does not apply for Greenland and the Faro Islands)
  31. Dominica
  32. Dominican Republic
  33. Ecuador
  34. El Salvador
  35. Estonia*
  36. Fiji
  37. Finland
  38. France
  39. Georgia* (does not apply for Autonomous Republic of Abkhazia and the former Autonomous District of South Ossetia)
  40. Germany
  41. Greece
  42. Grenada
  43. Honduras
  44. Hungary*
  45. Iceland
  46. India
  47. Ireland
  48. Israel
  49. Italy
  50. Japan
  51. Kazakhstan*
  52. Korea, Republic of
  53. Kosovo (from 14.07.2016)**
  54. Kyrgyzstan*
  55. Latvia*
  56. Lesotho
  57. Liberia
  58. Liechtenstein
  59. Lithuania*
  60. Luxembourg
  61. Malawi
  62. Malta
  63. Marshall Islands
  64. Mauritius
  65. Mexico
  66. Monaco
  67. Mongolia*
  68. Montenegro
  69. Morocco (from 14.08.2016)
  70. Namibia
  71. Netherlands
  72. New Zealand (does not apply to Tokelau)
  73. Nicaragua
  74. Niue
  75. Norway
  76. Oman
  77. Panama
  78. Paraguay
  79. Peru
  80. Poland*
  81. Portugal
  82. Republic of Moldova*
  83. Romania*
  84. Russian Federation*
  85. Saint Kitts and Nevis
  86. Saint Lucia
  87. Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  88. Samoa
  89. San Marino
  90. Sao Tome and Principe
  91. Serbia*
  92. Seychelles
  93. Slovakia
  94. Slovenia
  95. South Africa
  96. Spain
  97. Suriname
  98. Swaziland
  99. Sweden
  100. Switzerland
  101. Tajikistan*
  102. The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*
  103. Tonga
  104. Trinidad and Tobago
  105. Turkey
  106. Ukraine (does not apply for Autonomous Republic of Crimea, and certain districts of the Donetsk and Luhansk oblasts of Ukraine)
  107. United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (does not apply for countries, which haven’t signed Convention, after getting independence)
  108. United States of America
  109. Uruguay
  110. Uzbekistan*
  111. Vanuatu
  112. Venezuela

* Countries with which Ukraine is in legal assistance agreements abrogating the requirement for legalization of public confirming documents.

** Ukraine expressed objections to Kosovo's accession to the Hague Convention of 1961, that is why does not apply in relations between Ukraine and Kosovo, the Apostille on documents for usage in Kosovo is not affixed.